The heavy: a mother, a daughter, a diet--a memoir

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Ballantine Books,
Pub. Date:
©2013.
Language:
English
Description
For readers of Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother and Bringing Up Bebe, a mother's unflinching memoir about helping her seven year-old daughter lose weight, and the challenges of modern parenting. When a doctor pronounced Dara-Lynn Weiss's daughter Bea obese at age seven, the mother of two knew she had to take action. But how could a woman with her own food and body issues--not to mention spotty eating habits--successfully parent a little girl around the issue of obesity? In this much-anticipated, controversial memoir, Dara-Lynn Weiss chronicles the struggle and journey to get Bea healthy. In describing their process--complete with frustrations, self-recriminations, dark humor, and some surprising strategies--Weiss reveals the hypocrisy inherent in the debates over many cultural hot-button issues: from processed snacks, organic foods, and school lunches to dieting, eating disorders, parenting methods, discipline, and kids' self-esteem. Compounding the challenge were eating environments--from school to restaurants to birthday parties--that set Bea up to fail, and unwelcome judgments from fellow parents. Childhood obesity, Weiss discovered, is a crucible not just for the child but also for parents. She was criticized as readily for enabling Bea's condition as she was for enforcing the rigid limits necessary to address it. Never before had Weiss been made to feel so wrong for trying to do the right thing. The damned if you do/damned if you don't predicament came into sharp relief when Weiss raised some of these issues in a Vogue article. Critics came out in full force, and Weiss unwittingly found herself at the center of an emotional and highly charged debate on childhood obesity. A touching and relatable story of loving a child enough to be unpopular, The Heavy will leave readers applauding Weiss's success, her bravery, and her unconditional love for her daughter. Advance praise for The Heavy "Have you ever been 'that mother'? You know, the one who others criticize or question? If so, then you know what incredible courage and daring it can take to raise a child in a way that doesn't always meet other people's expectations. Dara-Lynn Weiss is inspirational for her sheer will, her unwavering dedication, and her willingness to take accountability for her own actions. The Heavy is a stark look at imperfect parenting--and why our mistakes make us better parents."--Christine Carter, author of Raising Happiness "Dara-Lynn Weiss had to defy her child's school, the judgments of other parents, and our fast food culture to rescue her daughter from the epidemic of obesity. Parents should see this as an inspiration--and a wake-up call."--Amy Dickinson, "Ask Amy" advice columnist and author of The Mighty Queens of Freeville " The Heavy should be required reading for every parent because it tackles--with refreshing honesty--that universal question we'll all face: how to do what's best for our children, even when the kids resist our efforts and society judges our approach. Dara-Lynn Weiss has written a brave book and started a crucial and overdue national conversation."--Abigail Pogrebin, author of One and the Same and Stars of David
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780345541345
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDc02da789-6f61-f535-c6f3-b9dff3b51979
Grouping Titleheavy a mother a daughter a diet a memoir
Grouping Authorweiss dara lynn
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-12-17 01:50:01AM
Last Indexed2020-02-27 05:37:32AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorWeiss, Dara-Lynn.
author_displayWeiss, Dara-Lynn
available_at_montroseMRLD Montrose Branch
detailed_location_montroseMRLD Montrose Biography
display_description"As lightning-rod writer Dara Weiss explains in The Heavy, the "mommy wars" were never more clear than over the issue of her 7-year-old daughter's weight. Some moms looked down on her for "letting" Bea get clinically obese. But that's nothing compared with the scorn others offered when Dara put Bea on a strict calorie-counting diet. Some said she was clearly seeding body image issues; many others suggested the pat, "healthier" food route. The Heavy shares Weiss's harrowing and haunting family journey through Bea's considerable weight loss (Bea is no longer considered overweight), while the scrutiny and commentary swirled around them"--
format_category_montroseBooks
format_montroseBook
idc02da789-6f61-f535-c6f3-b9dff3b51979
isbn9780345541345
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b37786684.i12747917xMRLD Montrose BiographyWeiss1falsefalseOn Shelfmrlab
itype_montroseJuvenile Biography
last_indexed2020-02-27T12:37:32.446Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_montroseWeiss
local_time_since_added_montroseSix Months
Year
owning_library_montroseMontrose Regional Library District
owning_location_montroseMRLD Montrose Branch
primary_isbn9780345541345
publishDate2013
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b37786684BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishBallantine Books, ©2013.xi, 240 pages ; 22 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_montrose
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b37786684.i12747917xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue160, 161, 162, 163, 156, 157, 159
subject_facetAutobiographies
BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Personal Memoirs
FAMILY & RELATIONSHIPS / Parenting / Motherhood
Mothers and daughters -- Miscellanea
Obesity in children -- Diet therapy
Trivia and miscellanea
Weight loss -- Miscellanea
Weiss, Dara-Lynn
title_displayThe heavy : a mother, a daughter, a diet--a memoir
title_fullThe heavy : a mother, a daughter, a diet--a memoir / Dara-Lynn Weiss
title_shortThe heavy
title_suba mother, a daughter, a diet--a memoir
topic_facetBIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Personal Memoirs
Diet therapy
FAMILY & RELATIONSHIPS / Parenting / Motherhood
Mothers and daughters
Obesity in children
Weight loss
Weiss, Dara-Lynn