Gillespie and I: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Harper Perennial,
Pub. Date:
[2012, c2011]
Language:
English
Description
From the Orange Prize-nominated author of The Observations comes an absorbing, atmospheric exploration of one young woman's friendship with a volatile artist and her place in the controversy that consumes him. Jane Harris's Gillespie and I presents a strongly voiced female protagonist evocative of Moll Flanders and Becky Sharp, who offers a keen sensibility, deeply felt observations, and poignant remembrances of the world of a young artist in turn-of-the-century Glasgow in this fantastic work of historical fiction. London's Sunday Times calls Gillespie and I "a literary novel where the storytelling is as skilful as the writing is fine." Fans of The Piano Teacher and The Thirteenth Tale will find it irresistible and unforgettable.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062103208
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID58cdd807-8f66-a930-6c80-87d21cdad7f7
Grouping Titlegillespie and i
Grouping Authorharris jane
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2020-01-04 01:21:46AM
Last Indexed2020-02-16 04:43:06AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorHarris, Jane, 1961-
author_displayHarris, Jane
available_at_montroseMRLD Montrose Branch
detailed_location_montroseMRLD Montrose Fiction
display_descriptionAs she sits in her Bloomsbury home with her two pet birds for company, elderly Harriet Baxter recounts the story of her friendship with Ned Gillespie--a talented artist whose life came to a tragic end before he ever achieved the fame and recognition that Harriet maintains he deserved. In 1888, young Harriet arrives in Glasgow during the International Exhibition. After a chance encounter with Ned, she befriends the Gillespie family and soon becomes a fixture in their lives. But when tragedy strikes, culminating in a notorious criminal trial, the certainty of Harriet's new world rapidly spirals into suspicion and despair.
format_category_montroseBooks
format_montroseBook
id58cdd807-8f66-a930-6c80-87d21cdad7f7
isbn9780062103208
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b35008672.i127435281MRLD Montrose FictionHar1falsefalseOn Shelfmrlaf
itype_montroseJuvenile Biography
last_indexed2020-02-16T11:43:06.238Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_montroseHar
local_time_since_added_montroseSix Months
Year
owning_library_montroseMontrose Regional Library District
owning_location_montroseMRLD Montrose Branch
primary_isbn9780062103208
publishDate2012
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b35008672BookBooks1st U.S. ed.EnglishHarper Perennial, [2012, c2011]xiv, 504 pages : maps ; 21 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_montrose
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b35008672.i127435281On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue160, 161, 162, 163, 156, 157, 159
subject_facetArtists -- Fiction
Fiction
Glasgow (Scotland) -- Fiction
title_displayGillespie and I : a novel
title_fullGillespie and I : a novel / Jane Harris
title_shortGillespie and I
title_suba novel
topic_facetArtists