Murder in the telephone exchange

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Verse Chorus Press,
Pub. Date:
2014.
Language:
English
Description
First published in 1948, when it was the best-selling mystery of the year in the author's native Australia, Murder in the Telephone Exchange stars feisty young operator Maggie Byrnes. When one of her more unpopular colleagues is murdered -- her head bashed in with a "buttinsky," a piece of equipment used to listen in on phone calls -- Maggie resolves to turn sleuth. Some of her coworkers are acting strangely, and Maggie is convinced she has a better chance of figuring out who is responsible for the killing than the rather stolid police team assigned to the case, who seem to think she herself might have had something to do with it. But then one of her friends is murdered too, and it looks like Maggie might be next. Narrated with verve and wit, this is a whodunit in the tradition of Dorothy L. Sayers and Josephine Tey, by turns entertaining and suspenseful, and building to a gripping climax.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9781891241376
9781891241963
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID29a53329-9fae-e27e-7ae8-c419a7ab77c5
Grouping Titlemurder in the telephone exchange
Grouping Authorwright june
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2020-01-15 20:02:01PM
Last Indexed2020-02-22 04:21:30AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorWright, June, 1919-2012.
author2-rolehoopla digital.
author_displayWright, June
available_at_montroseMRLD Montrose Branch
detailed_location_montroseMRLD Montrose Mystery
display_description"First published in 1948, when it was the best-selling mystery of the year in the author's native Australia, Murder in the Telephone Exchange stars feisty young operator Maggie Byrnes. When one of her more unpopular colleagues is murdered - her head bashed in with a "buttinsky," a piece of equipment used to listen in on phone calls - Maggie resolves to turn sleuth. Some of her coworkers are acting strangely, and Maggie is convinced she has a better chance of figuring out who is responsible for the killing than the rather stolid police team assigned to the case, who seem to think she herself might have had something to do with it. But then one of her friends is murdered too, and it looks like Maggie might be next. Narrated with verve and wit, this is a whodunit in the tradition of Dorothy L. Sayers and Daphne du Maurier, by turns entertaining and suspenseful, and building to a gripping climax. "-- "A mystery novel set in Melbourne's Central Telephone Exchange in the late 1940s"--
format_category_montroseBooks
format_montroseBook
id29a53329-9fae-e27e-7ae8-c419a7ab77c5
isbn9781891241376
9781891241963
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
hoopla:MWT11843594Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11843594Available Online
ils:.b42263323.i127672552MRLD Montrose MysteryWri1falsefalseOn Shelfmrlmy
itype_montroseJuvenile Biography
last_indexed2020-02-22T11:21:30.625Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_montroseWri
local_time_since_added_montroseSix Months
Year
owning_library_montroseMontrose Regional Library District
owning_location_montroseMRLD Montrose Branch
primary_isbn9781891241376
publishDate2014
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
hoopla:MWT11843594eBookeBookEnglishVerse Chorus Press, 2014.1 online resource
ils:.b42263323BookBooksEnglishVerse Chorus Press, 2014.320.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_montrose
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b42263323.i127672552On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue160, 161, 162, 163, 156, 157, 159
subject_facetDetective and mystery stories
Electronic books
FICTION / Mystery & Detective / General
FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
Melbourne (Vic.) -- Fiction
Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction
Mystery fiction
Women detectives -- Fiction
title_displayMurder in the telephone exchange
title_fullMurder in the telephone exchange / June Wright
Murder in the telephone exchange [electronic resource] / June Wright
title_shortMurder in the telephone exchange
topic_facetDetective and mystery stories
Electronic books
FICTION / Mystery & Detective / General
FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
Investigation
Murder
Women detectives